Snowy weekend…

31 Jan

This weekend it snowed (AGAIN) in Virginia…  I love snow as much as the next guy, but I’m already tired of shoveling it.  If it would clear itself from the sidewalks and driveway, I would love it much, much more.

Last week I decided on a whim to create a crafty banner for my blog.  I’ve been following Feeling Stitchy for over a year now and have admired her embroidered blog banner since she added it.  I decided to embroider one of my own, just for fun (needed a little crafty something to do while killing time on Thursday night…).

Alas, today I noticed that another of the blogs I follow, Crafterhours,  recently updated their banner to something embroidered and crafty, so now I look like even more of a copy cat.  On my defense, I read all of my blogs on Google Reader, and I usually don’t see the actual blog design/layout, so I had no idea they had updated their banner… *Sigh*  Good thing I don’t aim to be unique and trend-setting, right?

Anyway, I dug up one of my mom’s old embroidery hoops, some canvas, and some colorful embroidery floss, and got to work.

A few years ago, when my mom was moving from one house to another, I inherited a bunch of goodies, including a Bernina serger, a shoe box full of embroidery floss, several embroidery hoops, and a huge bin of fabric scraps.   If you know me, you know I like things (crayons, clothes in my closet, etc) to be in ROYGBIV order, or something that closely resembles it…  I LOVE organization…I waste many hours a week organizing things, only to mess them up later.  So, anyway, after taking my inheritance home, I quickly set to taking all of the floss and wrapping it around cards (also inherited) and organizing by color.  I really do love to just look at my little box of floss…

If I hadn’t spent so much time wrapping and wrapping and wrapping floss around the cards I inherited, I would totally buy some of these fancy cards, found at this Etsy shop.

I also selected a cute little flower button, from my equally organized button box.  And, yes, I also love to look at my little button box, organized by color…  (You can tell I’m a Hokie, because I’m running low on orange buttons)

When Chuck walked in the living room and caught me embroidering, he said, “I didn’t know you knew how to do that”.  I explained to him that I don’t, really – but that I was gonna do it anyway.  I just kinda winged it for this little ditty, but I do have a really cute book on embroidery that I used when drawing my little birdie…you can see the inspiration on the bottom left corner of the cover.

And I feel special, because it’s an autographed edition, since I bought it straight from the author!  :o)

So, anyway, I just drew out the design straight on the canvas, using a pencil.  Then straight-stitched all of the lines (no fancy embroidery here)… I tried to get the colors to blend from brown to green, and in person, you can really tell that they do, but no matter how I photographed or scanned the little patch of embroidery, the colors look off on the computer.  I got frustrated trying to scan/photograph this, because it either looked too grainy, too fuzzy, too overexposed, underexposed…just yucky.   So, although I really like the bit of embroidery, I’m not completely happy with how the final banner looks on the computer screen, but that’s alright…

I used a lavender colored pencil and colored the canvas within the border…I wanted to add a little more color…but again,  when I scan/photograph the swatch, the color is all washed out.  It looks much cuter in person.

So, anyway…  That’s my update for today.   I promise to have more fun stuff to add to the blog soon!  :o)

2 Responses to “Snowy weekend…”

  1. Andrea February 1, 2010 at 4:05 pm #

    LOVE IT! It’s way too cute. Glad you’re posting again!

  2. Carlin February 19, 2010 at 10:35 am #

    It looks amazing. And it makes me want to take up embroidery as well!

Leave a Reply

