Yay! I did it!

13 Jun

I can reveal my latest project now because it’s been given to its intended recipient…

I saw a girl in the library a couple weeks ago with a pin-tucked skirt on and I thought to myself, “That’s a cool design technique that doesn’t look too difficult to emulate…maybe I can incorporate it in an upcoming project…” and put the thought in the back of my mental filing cabinet.  When I decided to make my mom and sister handbags (or pocketbooks, as we call them where I come from) I started off with a purchased pattern from an Etsy seller.  My sister’s bag turned out pretty cute, but only because I used my own intuition where the directions failed me and tweaked the pattern here and there.  When I set out to make my mom’s bag, I wanted to start from scratch and use a pattern all my own.  Here’s what I came up with:

Shanny Purse (1)

Shanny Purse (2)

Here’s a close-up of the pin tucks…I tried to make it look almost like a bow without being too…uh, bow-ish.

Shanny Purse (3)

And these buttons complemented the fabric perfectly, so how could I not get them?

Shanny Purse (4)

Inside I included a little pocket (complete with “Made by Mandy” iron-on label) and a swivel keyring clip (this is my favorite functional feature….ohhhh….alliteration!).  Just like with Betsy’s purse, I used a magnetic clasp for the closure.

Shanny Purse (5)

And there you have it…my prototype handbag, designed and constructed by moi!  It’s a cute little summer purse.  And moma really seemed to like it, so I think it worked out alright!

Shanny Purse (1)

One Response to “Yay! I did it!”

  1. Moma June 15, 2009 at 8:43 pm #

    Moma LOVES the surprise!

Leave a Reply

