This is one reason I’m so sleepy right now…

28 Apr

Ta-Da!

My second baby blanket!!!

ferrick-baby-blanket

ferrick-baby-blanket-2

I fell in love with this fabric combination and had to do something with it.  The white fabric on the front with the multi-colored dots is the Mod Dots in Paprika from the Anda Lucia Collection and the complementary back fabric is Mod Blooms in Petal from the same collection.  I bought a yard of each online at Etsy from Fresh-Squeezed Fabrics.  (If you want to read the blog of the owner of Fresh-Squeezed, go here).  I was lucky enough to find complementary orange and pink fabric at Jo-Ann Fabrics last weekend…

I just finished writing a Linguistics Report on the Gullah Sea Island creole language and culture.  In my research, several sources talked about the “long-strip quilts” that the Gullah women used to make.  I don’t know what a long-strip quilt is, but by golly, I was inspired by the idea and this is what I came up with!  The fabric was perfect – because it is basically a large polka dot design, cutting it up into small pieces would have ruined the effect, so I thought why not cut the fabric into various width strips and just make my own “long strip” quilt?  I think it looks lovely.  I’m really very pleased with myself (can you tell?).

ferrick-baby-blanket-3

As this is only my second baby blanket/quilting experience, I have to say, I did pretty well this go-round.  I only had to rip out two seams (I stitched two panels together backwards) and I’m quite proud to say that I mastered the art of mitered corners with ease! (I thought it was going to be much more difficult than it was!)  This is the first time I’ve ever used double-fold quilt binding, and it wasn’t difficult to work with.  I used my handy-dandy quilt binding clips (they look like hair clips to me…) and it was no problem at all!  My first baby quilt took roughly 12 hours to make and this one I whipped together in 4.5 hours.  Granted, the first one had a lot of piecing which took a long time to do, but I think I might be getting the hang of this baby quilt thing!

ferrick-baby-blanket-4

I included my little iron on “label” again.  I like this idea of marking my work with my name, but I hate that it looks like an iron-on transfer.   I think what i want to do is order a personalized stamp and find some colorfast stamping ink that can be used on fabric.  Or some custom-printed twill ribbon that I can stitch on.

ferrick-baby-blanket-5

The final quilt/blanket size was approximately 36″X45″.  It was a little larger than my first quilt, but not too big to machine quilt (I have the smallest size Singer sewing machine, so there isn’t much room between the needle and the motor box, so machine quilting is a bit tricky and limited to small projects).

ferrick-baby-blanket-6

I love the color combination so much.  I didn’t finish stitching the binding on until 2am last night, so the only light to take the photos by was the overhead lighting in the basement, which doesn’t do justice to the colors in the fabric…it’s so much prettier in person.  Even Chuck loved it!

ferrick-baby-blanket-7

And, of course, we have to be matchy-matchy (because I’m totally anal like that, as you well know) – and luckily I found the  most perfect pink and orange gift bag at Target which matched the quilt exactly!!!  I also looked long and hard for a card that would match…the little orange giraffe (or is that a pony?) card was adorable and matched my little color-crazy theme here, so of course I had to get it!

ferrick-baby-blanket-9

I also put in the bag two Keep-it-Kleen pacifiers (they have a little contraption that closes over the nipple when the baby drops it, so that the nipple never touches the floor or dirty surfaces when out of baby’s mouth…not sure how it works, but it sounded cool) and two sets of outlet covers that claim to “save your nails” with some special pop-out button for easy removal.

The recipient is my boss who is due at the end of May with little Olivia Suzanne (what a cute name, right?  Her other daughter is named Emma, which has always been on my baby names list…)  We had the baby shower today after work and all of our coworkers loved the quilt (which made me feel good…ego boost!) and I think my boss really liked it…  I’m so excited for my boss and I really can’t wait for her to hurry up and have this baby!  Hopefully she’ll take me up on my offer for free babysitting so I can play with little Olivia! 🙂

One Response to “This is one reason I’m so sleepy right now…”

  1. Moma April 29, 2009 at 7:24 pm #

    I love the different fabrics together, another masterpiece!

Leave a Reply

