My first baby blanket!!!

4 Apr

I think it’s safe to post this now…I’m headed to a baby shower at 2pm today, and hopefully the gift recipients are readying their house for the party and won’t be checking blogs, so I’m praying this doesn’t spoil the surprise.

Well, after about 12 hours of work I’ve finally finished my first baby blanket, and I have to say, I’m pretty proud of it!  I do wish it was a bit larger, but it will do for an infant, and maybe as a play mat later for a toddler…and if they have a little girl (they’re waiting to find out, so we don’t know yet if it’s a mini-Mike or a mini-Maya) she can use it as a baby doll blanket.

Without further ado…

Tada!

pd-baby-blanket

Our friends are lovers of bunnies (and have some of their very own) and when I saw Jay McCarroll’s Funny Bunnies fabric, I knew I had to make something for Mike and Maya’s baby using it.  You have to understand – our friends, much like Chuck and I, have a deep appreciation for all things zombie – so I knew they’d appreciate the bunnies’ crazy, zombie-ish eyes.  I searched and searched for a complimentary fabric and finally found this lovely striped yellow fabric.  What I love is that it brings out the other colors in the Funny Bunnies fabric – the reds and pinks in the carrots are more evident beside the yellow striped fabric.

pd-baby-blanket-4

pd-baby-blanket-3

I used Anna Maria Horner‘s Folk Dance Quilt pattern, available for free on her blog (look in the sidebar to the right).  I’ve pieced a quilt top before (it’s still waiting to be quilted, almost four years later) but it was a simple square patchwork design.  The triangles proved to be more challenging for me, but eventually I got the hang of piecing them together.  Some of the zig-zags are missing the pointy bits because when sewing the panels of triangles together, my seam allowance didn’t always work out, so I sewed over the corners on several places.  However, I think the overall effect was achieved and it was a great learning experience.  I’m glad to be giving this baby something I worked so hard to make – these are dear friends of ours and their kid deserves nothing but the best!

I chose a soft flannel for the back and it had tiny yellow and blue polka dots, to bring it all together.

pd-baby-blanket-10

To quilt it, I decided to just do simple zigzags in line with the pieced bits – it gave the back a nice, simple design, too.

pd-baby-blanket-8

Instead of making my own binding, I chose to fold the back fabric over and bind it that way.  I think it pulled it together well and I was pleased with the binding when I was done.  I used a tight whip-stitch to gather the corners together after I machine stitched the binding all around.

pd-baby-blanket-5

I decided to use an iron-on transfer for my label – I was too afraid to attempt an embroidered one and screw up the blanket, so I played it safe.   I ironed the label on after washing the quilt, so it looks a little flat and obvious, but hopefully with a little wear and more washing, it will soften up and look more like part of the fabric.

pd-baby-blanket-6

pd-baby-blanket-9

I’m excited to meet baby Pasquale Dhavale and I’m really proud I worked so hard to make such a cute gift…I can’t wait for it to be spit up on and pooped on and drooled on.  🙂  And I really can’t wait to cuddle and snuggle with Mike and Maya’s baby!

4 Responses to “My first baby blanket!!!”

  1. Moma April 4, 2009 at 11:46 am #

    Another Mandy masterpiece! I pretend that maybe she learned a little of this artistic talent from when her moma sewed so much when she was a little tyke herself. No matter where learned, this is absolutely beautiful!

  2. teacherbywayoftv April 4, 2009 at 9:08 pm #

    I love your new quilt. I finished piecing mine and quilted half of it this week. Maybe I’ll have it ready by next week when you’re in town.

  3. Sally Robertson April 5, 2009 at 4:50 pm #

    Thanks so much. You have given so much detail on this baby quilt it is easy to see the pattern.

  4. Maya April 6, 2009 at 11:07 am #

    As the caretaker of this blanket (until the recipient decides to come out and claim it), I have to say how adorable and totally perfect this blanket is in every way. It is obvious how much hard work and love went in to it. Thank you so much, Mandy! We are touched beyond words, and will cherish this gift (on behalf of baby) forever.

Leave a Reply

