Arts and Crafts!

15 Mar

So, the wall above our bed has been bare since we set up camp back in June of 2008.  It’s so sad to see the naked wall above our bed, especially since we have no headboard.  So, I decided to use some of the materials I had on hand to put something together to fill the void.

I had these three floating frames I had bought at Christmastime to gift to someone and ended up giving them something else.  Since then, they’ve been sitting in a stack under my nightstand, gathering dust bunnies.  This afternoon Chuck and I trekked out to our storage unit and I retrieved my scrapbooking supplies, then we headed to Michael’s to get an X-acto knife and a self-healing cutting mat.  Once I had my materials, it took about an hour to craft up something a little cutesy for our bare walls.

I’ve never done papercut art before, but I figured if I could draw the silhouette of an interesting picture, I could make something up as I went along.  I have a thing for trees and leaves, and since this so-called art was to go over our bed, I decided to make a little love-bird, tree-branch design.  I used some colorful scrapbooking paper, but Chuck and I both agree now that it would look less like nursery decor if I redid it in all black, so I will try my hand at it again as soon as I come into some quality black paper (all my scrapbook paper is colorful…not a single sheet of black) and more motivation.

So, anyway, here’s what I came up with.  I kinda like it, but I can see all my mistakes and I’m not too sure about the cutesy-pootsy scrapbook paper designs and colors.  I will definitely be making revisions, but since the craft bug bit fast and left me in a cloud of dust (and paper scraps), I’ll allow these guys to stay on the walls for a while.

dsc_00011

(oh, and please forgive the glare on the glass, my reflection in each shot, and the shadows thrown by our myraid of recessed lights…I didn’t finish my project until after the sun went down, so these pictures didn’t turn out as nice as they would’ve had I been getting these shots in during daylight).

dsc_0016

dsc_0008

dsc_0007

None of these pictures came out well.  Because of the poor lighting and my complete lack of Photoshop skills each of these looks as though it was taken against a completely different background color  The center picture most accurately reflects the wall paint color,  but I think you can get the idea.

dsc_0011

The next time I try this, I will make sure all of the paper is in stark contrast with the wall color…Chuck’s blue lovebird just about gets lost in the green wall…not a great choice on my part.  Oh well..this is the preliminary round of papercuttings…

dsc_0020

And, here’s the final effect.  (yes, I recognize that normal grown women nearing their thirties do not have giant teddy bears on their bed…but my dear “Charlie Bear” is the first gift Chuck ever gave me…and little “Hal” beside him was also a gift from my hubby…and yes, I’ll even admit, our king-sized bed accommodates both Chuck and I, as well as our 15 year old Pomeranian (Gus), and both teddy bears…and yes, I truly understand I’ve lost everyone’s respect, but I don’t care…those bears are rather snugly at night.)

SO…now that you know I’m 28 and still sleep with teddy bears (and that my husband even permits it)…do you still want to be my friend or are you running for the hills?

And more importantly, what do you think of the results of my hour with X-acto?

2 Responses to “Arts and Crafts!”

  1. pasq242 March 16, 2009 at 2:35 pm #

    These are beautiful!!!! I really love the floating effect of the frames, as well as the overall triptych! Very very awesome work!!

    Also, have no shame in sleeping with stuffed animals! People who would stigmatize you over something like that are jerks. I am totally pro stuffed animals; I still have my treasured ones from my youth (and yes, I would probably still sleep with them if I wasn’t afraid of them becoming dog toys). If they give you comfort and are symbols of love, who can denigrate that??

  2. Andrea March 16, 2009 at 6:23 pm #

    They turned out really great! What a cute idea…can’t wait to see what you come up with next!

Leave a Reply

