Baby Shower Fun!

5 Oct

Yesterday I hosted a baby shower for my cousin who is due with her second baby boy in November.  Chuck’s parents let me host the party at their house, Chuck trekked out to the grocery store and Michael’s with me, and Missy helped me by making a cake and keeping me company while I baked brownies and cookies, so it was a family affair.

I’ve never thrown a baby shower before, so I was a little unsure of how to handle the games/entertainment…I didn’t want anything too corny, but sometimes corny games are fun, so I wasn’t confident about those decisions.  I do think, however, the people that participated in the games had fun and they went over without too many groans.  I decided to do a “Name that Tune” game and played the first few seconds of songs with “Baby” in the title.  To my dismay I am apparently the only person in the world (maybe besides my mom) who watched the movie Beaches in the 80’s…and bought the soundtrack and listened to it over and over…  Bette Midler sings a beautiful lullaby titled “Baby Mine” in that movie and it’s such a sweet song, so I included it in the playlist.  I was the only person in the house who knew the song.  (Yes, I admit my loser status has been raised five notches)

I also printed out pictures of celebrity babies, with their celebrity parents, and had a “Name that Baby” contest.  I lined up the pictures and numbered them and everyone wrote down the names on a pre-printed answer sheet.  That one went over pretty well…of course my sister-in-law and the guest-of-honor aced that one, because they’re my age and keep up with celebrity gossip pretty well.

And then I bought plain white onesies in different sizes (0-3 mos, 3-6 mos, 6-9 mos) and had some fabric markers on hand for everyone to make some creative, personalized fashions for the baby.  Granted, these aren’t designer styles, but I know every mom can use more onesies, and in the winter months, she can layer these under other, nicer-looking shirts for added warmth, and I knew it would be a hit with the younger guests.

Even the mom-to-be decorated a onesie for baby Ben…

And if nothing else, she’ll have some extras on hand for those days she just doesn’t have the energy to wash the dirty ones…

We had a small spread of appetizers and desserts and I put a vase of bright Gerbera Daisies on the table (Commonly called Gerber daisies…get it, Gerber daisy…  Get it?  GERBER? )

Okay, so anyway, I won’t bore you with all the pictures from the shower, but I will share with you an easy, yummy cake-from-a-box recipe… Missy has made this for two separate family functions and it’s always a hit…it’s nice and fruity and light, so it’s a great cake for parties because some people don’t like heavy cakes or the standard chocolate…

So you just make a regular white cake from a box, using two round cake pans.  Let the layers cool completely and poke them with a fork all over.  Then mix up some Jell-O and, while the mix is still warm, pour the Jell-O mix all over each layer, so that it can seep down into the poked holes.  Let the cake layers sit in their pans in the fridge overnight so that the Jell-O can set up a little.  Pop the layers out of the pans the next morning and frost with plain Cool Whip (you can add food coloring if you want to make your cake a little more festive or if you want to match a party theme/color).  Put the fully “frosted” cake back in the fridge to set up until it’s time to serve, and then serve it chilled.  Ta-da!  Easy, inexpensive, and not at all work intensive (you just have to make it a day ahead).  It’s also really pretty when you cut it…if you wanted to get really fancy, you could probably choose two different types of jello flavors and have different colored layers. My sister-in-law also sometimes puts maraschino cherries on top to decorate it and add a little extra something.  Yum, yum!

3 Responses to “Baby Shower Fun!”

  1. teacherbywayoftv October 6, 2008 at 9:48 pm #

    So many cute things! One day I will have an awesome baby shower thrown by Mandy…

  2. Mandy Jo October 7, 2008 at 9:07 am #

    Yes! You will!

  3. Sarah October 7, 2008 at 1:56 pm #

    LOL, Mandy YOU almost make me want to have another. Almost. By the way… LOVE the elephant. If Guilford College ever made fleece fabric… 😉

Leave a Reply

