Graduation!

19 Jun

Fairfax County Schools are graduating this weekend (even though we teachers and poor little underclassmen must trudge on for another four days).   Chuck’s cousin is graduating high school and is off to the Culinary Institute of America, affectionately called the CIA…not to be confused with these guys or these guys:

Over a year ago, I purchased an adorable apron pattern from Sew Liberated, in hopes of making one for my one-day, some-day, in-my-dreams, kitchen of my very own.  Here’s the Emmeline Apron pattern: an adorable, reversible apron that is anything but matronly.

Very cute, indeed!  I like the gathered bodice (which gives the allusion of boobs to those of us who weren’t gifted with them naturally) and it looks more like a summer dress rather than a groddy old apron.

I decided to use the same JoAnn print for both sides, in two color-ways, blue and lavender (our cousin’s favorite color is purple).   I paired it with black for a simple, chic look.  Here’s what I came up with:

Complimentary colors:

Blue Side:

Purple Side:

I like how you can tie the apron in the back, on the side, or in the front.  The ties are extra long so you have some choice in where you wear your bow.   I took some pictures of Chuck’s mom wearing it, but they all turned out blurry, so you’ll have to imagine how adorable it is on.  It’s very flattering.

I think this is an adorable project – it wasn’t very difficult to make and I really like the way it turned out.   :)   Hopefully, our cousin will whip up some  yummy meals in her dorm or apartment while wearing this cute apron.

Unfortunately, I’m still nursing a wicked cold, so I’m unable to take this gift to the graduate, myself.  I sent it along with Chuck, so I won’t get to see her reaction when she opens it, but she’ll receive it tonight at her graduation celebration dinner.

Congratulations, Amanda!!!  We’re proud of you!

(Totally unrelated:  Gus and Francy’s cousin, Riley, is here with us for the weekend.  He’s keeping me company while I lie in bed, coughing and sneezing…he’s a little cutie-patootie!)

2 Responses to “Graduation!”

  1. Proud Moma June 19, 2010 at 5:50 pm #

    Another original you should be keeping yourself! It’s darling! And I’m in love with the little white cutie!

  2. Christine June 22, 2010 at 8:18 am #

    What a wonderful present for Amanda – great job, Mandy! We missed you (and Chuck, actually) on Saturday. Hope you feel better soon!…oh, and I LOVE this picture of Riley-boy =)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

