Postcard Swap!!!

18 Feb

Yay!!!  I’ve finally got all 10 of my postcards off in the mail today.

As you recall, I’m participating in iHanna’s 2010 postcard swap.  This is my first ever craft swap and I was super excited!

My original idea for the postcards went bust (I had a great plan and idea, but when I gave it a go, it didn’t pan out), so I opted to use materials I had on hand, so I didn’t spend any money other than postage.

Once upon a time, I made a few scrapbooks…this was before digital scrapbooking came about (which I haven’t gotten involved in) and before I discovered MyPublisher and Photoworks.  I still have all of my nifty scissors and punches and some leftover scrapbooking paper, so I decided to utilize those tools and materials.

I wanted the postcards to say something about me, without really saying anything about me.  I love the power of words…I adore reading…I’m an English teacher…  So, naturally, I incorporated quotes from some of my favorite books, thinking maybe the quote on the postcard will inspire the recipient to read the book!

I also love to sew and I knew I wanted some stitching on the cards.  As all of the recent snow shoveling has really irritated my carpal tunnel syndrome (which also makes blogging and typing a bit of a pain…literally) I opted against handstitching and used my sewing machine to stitch the cards together.  I really liked how this finished off the postcards…I think its my favorite element.  Along with the stitching, I pulled some ribbon from my stash and added that for a more mixed-media effect – I even used the some of the silver ribbon left over from my wedding invitations which I handmade back in the day.

I wanted to incorporate a little whimsy, so I cut up some plastic sheet protectors (ah yes…another love of mine…school supplies!) and created a little “window”, sandwiching some tiny punched-out flowers between the plastic and the quote.  This forces the recipient of the postcard to manhandle the postcard, shaking and tapping it to move the flowers around so they can read the quote behind (clever idea? yes…  did it work?  not exactly…  you really have to shake and tap some of the postcards hard to get the flowers to move about, whereas some of them move more freely… this will need some R&D to perfect, I believe).

I decided to make the cards fairly simple – y’know, less is more, and all that.

When I finished them it was nighttime and there just isn’t good lighting in the basement…even with my handy dandy directional flash, my photos are a little grainy, but anyway, here they are:  (can you guess which books the quotes are from?)

Post Card 1

Post Card 2

Post Card 3

Post Card 4

Post Card 4

Post Card 5

Post Card 6

Post Card 7

Post Card 8

Post Card 9

Post Card 10

For the back of the cards I created a simple template.  You can see at the bottom right, the credit for the book and author from which I took the quote…  I actually wrote messages on each of my postcards – I even had Chuck help me translate a message into Lithuanian (no, he can’t speak Lithuanian, but he can Google with the best of them).

So far, I’ve received four postcards in the mail, two from the UK, one from Pennsylvania, and one from New York.  I LOVE LOVE LOVE getting snail mail.  It’s the best!  I can’t wait to receive the other 6 postcards!

Where did mine go?  I sent postcards to Tennessee, Wisconsin, New York (x2), Minnesota, South Carolina, Arizona, Florida, Lithuania, and the United Kingdom.   Cool huh?  I can’t believe that something I made is going to be in someone’s hands as far away as Lithuania!

I really had fun with this, so I think I will be participating in more craft swaps.  I’d really love to be part of a fabric swap, but I have such a limited fabric stash, I dunno if I’d have anything worth swapping – but I’d like to give it a try anyway!

5 Responses to “Postcard Swap!!!”

  1. Friday Eudaemonism February 19, 2010 at 1:03 am #

    Wow these look great! Love the quotes you’ve used! :)
    xox

  2. Carlin February 19, 2010 at 10:31 am #

    There are so many things about your postcards that I love:
    – fun bright colors
    – mixed media-ness
    – the quotes are great
    – and the ‘interactivity’ is such an amazing idea!

  3. Carol February 20, 2010 at 2:06 pm #

    My Post Card arrived today- great joy , it is and they are beautiful- all the others on your blog.
    You are not on my sending list but when i get a chance – I will post one to you.
    Love the book Quote concept!
    I have not posted mine to my blog as I am having technical downloading form camera issues among other things, so in good time they will all be there!
    Thanks again- great job!

  4. sues February 23, 2010 at 4:14 pm #

    Hi Mandy, Just received my postcard and I love it. Thanks so much for sending it, the mail is so much fun to get with a postcard like yours in it. Sues

  5. Kristina March 5, 2010 at 6:37 am #

    Hello Mandy,

    this is the lucky Lithuanian :) As you can understand the card (No.6) has finally reached me and I wanted to thank you for putting so much effort into making it so very special!

    I love the way it looks, I love the flowers that can float and the silver ribbon that has actually been purchased for your wedding :) I love the quote – although I still haven’t read the book it’s from (The Time Traveler’s Wife), but now I will make sure I do. That’s a promise!

    And as for the phrase that has been translated into my language – I’m impressed to say the least. I’m not a fan of Monty Python, but when my boyfriend saw this he said – “make sure you tell the girl she has a very good taste in films”, well he is English, so I guess Monty Python isn’t a Lithuanian thing :)

    Thanks once again and I will make sure you get a postcard from Lithuania – I bet to you this country sounds soooo far away… :)

    Take care,

    Kristina

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

